'Young' George Swinford at the Swinford Museum at Filkins
Housed in a 17th century cottage, this fine collection of local domestic, agricultural, trade and craft tools provides a unique picture of a bygone rural community.
One of Oxfordshire's oldest small rural museums, it was originally set up by George Swinford in the 1930's with the help of Sir Stafford Cripps.
We will be open twice a month on the first and third Sunday of the month from
May to September 2.30 - 5 pm
See the Museum Events Page for this years special events
We always welcome group viists whereby we offfer a warm welcome, visit of the museum, short history walk of the village and a cream tea. Please telephne Diane on 01367 860504 for more information or to book a visit.
If you are researching family who lived in Filkins, w can help with assistance from the church records which have been transcribed by Gerald Webb and Diane Blackett.
A small donation would be appreciated.